Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News


Friday, November 30, 2018  
Share |


The Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management (DFFM) will be conducting its first All Hazard Yellow Card qualification committee meeting on February 15, 2019.  Individuals that seek to become qualified in All Hazard incident management team positions must have completed an All Hazard Incident Management Team Association (AHIMT) or FEMA position task booklet for submittal.  If you or someone within your organization is interested in submitting an All Hazard task booklet to the Yellow Card qualification committee, please contact Don Weaver at deadline to submit all required documentation is January 21st.   

The All Hazard Qualification Committee Review Committee (AHQRC) will only be reviewing the following All Hazard type 3 incident management team position task booklets:

Command and General Staff Positions: Incident Commander; Public Information Officer; Safety Officer; Liaison Officer; Operation Section Chief; Planning Section Chief; Logistics Section Chief; Finance/Section Chief.

Division Supervisor and Unit Leader Positions: Division Group Supervisor; Task Force Leader; Planning Section Unit Leaders; Logistics Section Unit Leaders. 

Individuals interested in emergency management NIMS/ICS position qualification should contact the Arizona Department of Emergency Management for information regarding Emergency Operation Center and other FEMA NIMS/ICS position qualifications. 

Individuals that apply for the above positions must work for a state, county or local government agency and their organization must have an intergovernmental agreement or a cooperative fire rate agreement with DFFM.  Having one or both agreements with DFFM allows for individuals and agencies to be reimbursed for accrued incident wages, per diem, transportation and other incident related costs. 

The AHQRC will also be reviewing “Requests for Prior Learning” submissions for individuals who feel that through their prior experience, they have already acquired and performed the required competencies of an NIMS/ICS All Hazard incident management team position.  To submit the required documentation for the Recognition of Prior Learning process, see section D of the hyperlinked DFFM SOG 708 Minimum Experience Requirement.

Individuals that submitted for qualifications will be notified by February 20, 2019 if they have met the requirements for qualification or they need additional trainee assignments and/or required course work completion for qualification.  If you have any questions, contact Don Weaver at

Community Search
Sign In

Latest News